Facebook sanitizes your year, scrubbing out the bad stuff

23 Dec 2015 | Author: | No comments yet »

Facebook now lets you remove bad memories from your Year in Review.

Remember when Facebook first introduced their new On This Day feature, some of us were forced to revisit painful memories of ex-boyfriends and girlfriends along with all other sorts of memories we’d rather forget that are stored on the site? The social media site rectified the problem soon after by introducing a memory filter that allowed you to specify certain individuals or dates you don’t want it to remind you of. “We heard feedback last year that we need to do more to select the photos that are most enjoyable to people and make it easier for them to edit the photos they see and share in their Year In Review,” a spokesman for the social media site said in a statement. This year, the social network has redesigned the feature to look like a photo strip and has made it more customizable to help filter out sad memories.

The change comes following backlash over the feature last year, after some people criticized the feature for surfacing memories they’d rather not be reminded of, like photos of exes or of friends who had died. Any photo that we suggest that you’d rather not include can be easily removed or replaced, and you can choose whether you want to enjoy this experience yourself or share it with friends.

Here you can write a commentary on the recording "Facebook sanitizes your year, scrubbing out the bad stuff".

* Required fields
Twitter-news
Our partners
Follow us
Contact us
Our contacts

dima911@gmail.com

ICQ: 423360519

About this site